

5516 Vern Holmes Drive • Stevens Point, WI • 54482-8833 Phone 715-344-8580 • FAX 715-344-4241 • email info@wiaawi.org • Web site www.wiaawi.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Monday, Feb. 28, 2011

# WIAA WRESTLING TEAMS COMPETE FOR STATE TITLES AT FIELD HOUSE

Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association Team Wrestling Championships Friday-Saturday, March 4-5, 2011 UW Field House, Madison, Wis.

**THE CHAMPIONSHIPS:** The 20th Annual Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association State Team Wrestling Championships will take place Friday and Saturday, March 4-5. The tournament is in its seventh year at the historic Field House on the University of Wisconsin campus in Madison, Wis. Ticket prices for the tourney are \$8 per session.

#### CHAMPIONSHIPS SCHEDULE AND PAIRINGS:

The single elimination tournament features eight teams in Division 1 and four each in Divisions 2 and 3.

## Friday, March 4

## Time Div. Pairings

7 p.m. 1 Match-1: Kenosha Tremper (32-5) vs. Arrowhead (15-4) 7 p.m. 1 Match-2: Mukwonago (20-3) vs. Franklin (18-2) 7 p.m. 1 Match-3: Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln (24-1) vs. Hartford Union (23-5) 7 p.m. 1 Match-4: Hudson (11-4) vs. Holmen (12-5)

# Saturday, March 5

#### Time Div. Pairings

9 a.m. 1 Match-6: Match-3 Winner vs. Match-4 Winner
1 p.m. 2 Match-1: Ellsworth (19-3) vs. Lodi (21-6)
1 p.m. 2 Match-2: Luxemburg-Casco (31-1) vs. Campbellsport (22-2)

9 a.m. 1 Match-5: Match-1 Winner vs. Match-2 Winner

1 p.m. 3 Match-1: Clear Lake (15-3) vs. Mineral Point (20-5)

1 p.m. 3 Match-2: Coleman (11-1) vs. Oostburg (17-2)

6 p.m. 1 Match-11: Division 1 Championship Match
6 p.m. 2 Match-12: Division 2 Championship Match
6 p.m. 3 Match-13: Division 3 Championship Match

**ON THE AIR:** The entire State Tournament can be seen live on foxsportswisconsin.com. The championship finals

for all divisions will also be aired tape-delayed on FS Wisconsin. The Division 1 championship dual will be aired Friday, March 25 at 6:30 p.m.. The Division 2 championship match will air Saturday, March 26 at 12:30 p.m., and the Division 3 final will air Monday, March 28 at 9:30 p.m. Check the Media Center on the WIAA Web site for a schedule of all WIAA Tournament events on FS Wisconsin.

TEAM TOURNAMENT OVERVIEW: The first WIAA State Team Wrestling Championship was held in 1940. Until 1992, team champions were determined by a point system based on individuals' placing in what is currently the individual championships. For the first time in 1992, a team champion was determined by a separate tournament series involving dual matches. UW-Stevens Point hosted the first two championships. West Allis Central hosted the meet from 1994-2004. Since then, the tournament has been held at the UW Field House. There were 334 programs entering the tournament series, including 128 in Division 1, 104 in Division 2 and 102 in Division 3.

**LAST YEAR:** Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln won its eighth team title in the last nine years and its membership-leading 19th overall by defeating Milton 52-17 in the Division 1 championship final. Oconto Falls won the Division 2 championship, defeating Pewaukee in the title match, 38-23. Coleman won the Division 3 championship with a 41-19 decision over two-time defending champion Mineral Point in the title match.

ABOUT THE DIVISION 1 FIELD: Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln is making its membership-leading 16th overall appearance in the team tournament. The Red Raiders have won 19 team championships, including 14 since the inception of the dual championship format in 1992. They have also placed runner-up six times. Last year's runner-up Hartford Union returns to the tournament field for the seventh time and for the second time in the last three seasons. The Orioles qualified five straight times from 1997-2001. Their furthest advance at State was to the semifinals in 1997. Before the team dual tournament format, the Orioles won the Division 1 championship in 1990. Franklin is making its sixth appearance in the last seven years and its eighth overall. The Sabers' advanced to the

semifinals in their first-ever appearance in 2001, which accounts for their furthest advancement in the tournament. Arrowhead is also making its sixth State appearance. All the previous experiences came in succession from 2004-2008. In 2005, the Warhawks experienced their most success in tournament by advancing to the championship final and finishing runner-up. Holmen is making its second consecutive trip to the team tourney and the fifth overall. Each of the Vikings' four previous experiences have resulted in losses in the quarterfinals. **Mukwonago** is a State qualifier for the fourth time and for the first time since three straight appearances from 2005-2007. The Indians have been eliminated from title contention in the quarterfinal round in each of their previous appearances. Hudson and Kenosha Tremper are both making their first-ever appearances in the State Team Tournament.

ABOUT THE DIVISION 2 FIELD: Lodi returns to the tournament for the 10th straight year and for the 14th time overall, all coming in the last 16 years. The Blue Devils were crowned champions in 1998, 2004 and 2008, and have finished runner-up in 2000, 2002, 2003, 2006 and 2009. Luxemburg-Casco is making its 13th overall appearance in the State Team Tournament and the first since the last of eight consecutive appearances in 2008. They have won Division 2 titles on nine times (1992, 1994, 1996, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2005 and 2006). The Spartans also added runner-up finishes in

1991 and 2007. **Ellsworth** is back for the sixth straight year and for the 10th time overall. The Panthers have won four State titles, capturing the crown in 1985, 2000, 2007 and 2009. In addition, they also finished runner-up in 1999, 2001 and 2008. **Campbellsport** returns to the team tournament for the first time since 2003 and for the eighth time overall. The Cougars won the Class B team title in 1980 and were runners-up in 1993.

**ABOUT THE DIVISION 3 FIELD:** Defending champion Coleman returns to the team tournament for the fourth consecutive year and for the ninth time overall. The Cougars also won the State championship in 2000 with the current dual format. They also claimed crowns in 1960, 1962, 1963, 1964 and 1966 when there was only one division. In addition, they finished runner-up in 1959, 1961, 1981, 1983, 1996 and 2008. Mineral Point returns to the field for the fifth straight season and for the 10th time overall. The Pointers have won four State championships, having won two straight Division 3 crowns from 2008-09 and also in 2002-03. **Oostburg** has qualified for the second time after appearing for the first-time last year when the Flying Dutchmen fell in the semifinals. **Clear Lake** is also qualifying for just the second time. The Warriors' only other experience in the team tournament came in 2008 with a loss in the semifinals.

**NEED RESULTS?:** The quickest way to get results will be to access the WIAA Website at: www.wiaawi.org/index.php?id=578 and choose the appropriate link at the 2011 wrestling results home page, or access the TrackWrestling.com Web site.